Monday, 17 November 2008

Club Champions 2008

Winners of the Perth Bowling Club Championships for 2008 Season
Ann Moffat and Ross Dennis

Bowling in Portugal

Willie Wood congratulates Willie Gellatly and his rink on their success. They are from left right:-
Sam Sabbagh, Willie Wood, Willie Gellatly, John Gibb, and Bob Fairlie.

The bowlers ready to leave the hotel for another
days competitive bowling

A party of 18 bowlers from Perth augmented by 6 from Clydebank under the captaincy of Sam Sabbagh, Perth Bowling Club, took part in the European Open Amateur Bowling week at Vilamoura in the Argarve. Forty teams from all over the UK, Holland, Spain and Portugal competed in a 5 game 21 ends tournament over five consecutive days. The rink skipped by Willie Gellatly , Bankfoot Bowling Club, Bob Fairlie, John Gibb, and Sam Sabbagh, all Perth Bowling Club, finished third overall having won all of thier five games and 77 shots up in a quality field.

Willie Wood, well known Scottish player, who is coaching in Vilamoura, was one of the first to congratulate the rink on their success. Gordon Christie`s rink finished in tenth place only losing one of their five games. The relatively inexperienced rink of Eric Barty scored a maximum eight at one end and received a prize for the highest rink on the day.

Wednesday, 15 October 2008

Winners in 2008

Club Trophy Winners in 2008

Championship: Winner: A.Moffat (runner-up-M.Flood)
Archibald Trophy-Singles: E.Matchet (F.Sandilands)
Senior Singles: K.Rettie (E.Matchet)
Nomination Pairs: G.Barclay/L.Scott (K.Rettie/I.Rougvie)
Club Pairs: N.Kettles/T.Milne (W.Stewart/M.Grimmond)
Two Bowl Pairs: B.Bell/I.Clark (M.Christie/B.Robbie)
Triples: M.Christie/M.Miller/T.Milne (M.Flood/F.Sandilands/B.Bell)

Championship: R.Dennis (S.Sabbagh)
Silver Trophy: C.McGready (G.Turpie)
Campbell Quaich: J.Mackie Jnr. (R.Fairlie)
Nomination Pairs: B.Tavendale/G.Sidey (I.Robertson/J.Allan)
Club Pairs: S.Sabbagh/A.Rettie (H.Hutchison/J.Williams)
Club Triples: J.Sandilands/M.Flood/R.Sidey (C.Little/G.Christie/E.Williams)
Club Fours: R.Dennis/E.Barty/J.Williams/E.Williams (K.Moyes/R.Dowie/A.Stewart/T.Rorrison)
Senior Singles: D.Allan (G.Grimmond)
Senior Pairs: G.Christie/E.Williams (G.Wilson/R.Dowie)
Aussie Pairs: R.Dennis/C.McGready (H.Hutchison/S.Hutchison)
Mixed Pairs: C.Little/L.Scott (C.McGready/K.Rettie)
Bill Scott Mem. Trophy: M.Christie/K.Rettie/K.Sievwright/G.Grimmond (G.Christie/C.McGready/R.Paterson/M.McLeish)
Gordon Saunders 2007 -(played early 2008): M.Flood/M.Flood/E.Williams (I.Robertson/G.Christie/A.Moffat)
Gordon Saunders 2008 (played late 2008): B.Tavendale/G.Sidey/W.Stewart (E.Barty/K.Rettie/J.Sidey)

Monday, 14 July 2008

Bill Scott Memorial Trophy 2008

Winners of the Bill Scott Memorial Trophy 2008
From Left to Right:
Gordon Grimmond; Maureen Christie; Kathy Rettie: and Keith Sievwright

Wednesday, 28 May 2008

Friendly with West End Bowling Club

Photograph taken during play between Perth Bowling Club and West End Bowling Club in the friendly game played on Saturday 24th May when all seven rinks were used

Wednesday, 21 May 2008

Scottish Inter County Top Ten

Members of Perth Bowling Club who took part in the Scottish Inter County Top Ten Competition against New Deer Bowling Club from Buchan County on Sunday 18 May 2008
left to right: G.Wilson; H.Hutchison; J.Mackie; R.Fairlie; C.McGreadie; I.Robertson; S.Sabbagh; C.Little; R.Dennis; D.Allan; and J.Sandilands Gents Club President